Ice Dogs Honour Top Players

Posted on Tuesday, April 9, 2019 05:14 AM

The 2018-2019 campaign came to an official end last night for the Dryden GM Ice Dogs.

Seven players ending their junior hockey career were recognized for their commitment to the game.

Trey Palermo was among them and he also picked up various individual honours.

Palermo says "there is no other way to end it here as a 20-year-old to get a few awards. There was a lot of success this year, not just on the team side but individually."

Palermo was named Top Defensive Forward and Top Local Player and received the Jim Wright Memorial Trophy as Fan Favourite and the Dr. Adam Moir Bursary award.

He says he is leaving the junior game with a lot of great memories.

Here is a complete list of award winners:

Award Winners:
Top Scorer (The Hackman's): Eric Stout
Rookie of the Year (The Goal Post): Rayman Bassi
Most Sportsmanlike (Pizza Hut): Jacob Siebenga
Playoff MVP (Mike and Shawn Sveinson): Jacob Anthony
Top Defensive Forward (Safeway): Trey Palermo
Top Local Player (Glenview Rentals): Trey Palermo
Most Improved Player (Dingwall Ford): Evan Pakkala
Defenceman of the Year (Tim Horton's): Ryan Brandt
Community Service Award (CKDR): Dylan Winsor/Graham Oliphant
Most Valuable Player (Petro Pass): Eric Stout
Coach's Award (Tammy Woitowicz): Curtis Magas
Jim Wright Memorial Trophy-Fan Favourite (Glenview Rentals): Trey Palermo
Dr. Adam Moir Bursary: Trey Palermo

Outgoing Players
#44 Cordell Boyko
#17 Cameron Coutre
#19 Trygve Many Guns
#4 Kyle Sargent #16 Braden Shea
#14 Eric Stout
#22 Trey Palermo